Fall 2014 New Release

The Baul Tradition

The Baul Tradition
Sahaj Vision East & West
by M. Young
Foreword by Parvathy Baul

This book traces the Baul Path, a Tantric spiritual tradition, from its earliest roots in the subcontinent of India, to its dissemination in the West in modern times.

In the East, for centuries, Baul bards and yogis wandered the dusty roads of Bengal singing and dancing with joy in praise of God. Their poetry-songs uplifted ordinary people, transporting all above the daily grind for survival and into a direct experience of the sublime.

Read More >>
Mother Guru

Mother Guru
Savitri Love Poems
by Red Hawk

Mother Guru is a collection of refined devotional poetry in the tradition of Hafiz and Rumi—whose poems of love continue to inspire millions throughout the world. The fact that this poetry appears in contemporary dress is more gracious still.

The author, Red Hawk, is a widely published and award-winning poet, professor of English at the University of Arkansas, at Monticello. He is also an unabashed disciple of a great contemporary Master, Mister Lee Lozowick (1943- 2010), and one who is willing to bare that discipleship in poetry written as prayer, expressly for and with his guru in mind and heart. In this sense, Mother Guru is a daring book and courageous, as the author overlooks scholarly reputation, Trusting rather in the love that infuses what he writes. He also risks the opprobrium of those who limit the expression of the spiritual to sweet words and lofty sentiments.

Read More >>

Spring 2014 New Release

Discover the Immeasurable

Discover the Immeasurable
by J. Krishnamurti

Discover the Immeasureable contains a series of six lectures given by J. Krishnamurti in the Fall of 1956. It includes the original questions from his listeners, together with his insightful and practical answers. These lectures, as all of the great philosopher's work, are based on the need for radical change in understanding our own minds.

With the term "immeasurable," Krishnamurti is urging us to explore "what is beyond the beliefs and theories, beyond the sentimental hopes and intellectual assertions [and] mere projections of the mind" that determine our lives. He calls us to passionate action in experiencing life directly, since "only direct experience has validity." To directly experience what is immeasurable will have an extraordinary significance in our lives, even to the point of realizing what is God, or what is truth.

Read More >>
Original Innocence

Original Innocence
by Traktung Yeshe Dorje

With the directness of a farmer naming the crops in his fields, Traktung Yeshe Dorje—farmer, mystic, scholar and poet—points out that transformation and enlightenment are possible for each person. They are the soil out of which our lives have sprouted, and are not separate from the ground of the spiritual path itself.

Original innocence, not original sin, is the intrinsic condition of the human mind, the author asserts. He is not alone in this declaration. Great mystics and sages who have discovered the essence of reality have also proclaimed “original innocence.” While their words and the flowering of this realization may have taken different expressions, the essence remains the same. This is good news for the weary traveler lost in samsara (confused perception). This confused perception is like that of a person with mental illness who thinks themselves to be Napoleon; or an anorexic who perceives themselves as fat. Such a complex of thought-feeling-behavior thus influences everything they do. And so, samsara brings suffering to one’s life.

Read More >>
In Praise of Adya Kali

In Praise of Adya Kali
by Aditi Devi

In Praise of Adya Kali details the goddess Kali, and her culture of devotion in West Bengal and South Asia. Different from most contemporary books about this Dark Goddess, this book offers a liturgy of worship—a spiritual practice, the Song of the Hundred Names of Adya Kali, that readers can use to cultivate a direct devotional relationship to Kali.

In Praise of Adya Kali is also a context-setting guide, establishing this practice as a general orientation to life. Most compelling, the text of this liturgy and Commentaries contain an intimate revelation of how the goddess establishes herself in her devotees’ bodies and thus intervenes, by unconditional love and acceptance, in their lives.

Read More >>